Posted by: acedat | May 28, 2008

Organic Chemistry Part 1

Based on my test, it seems like they like to know if you have a good understanding of the funamental mechanisms such as SN1, SN2, E1, E2, etc.. ALOT of problems dealt with those mechanisms. Additionally, there were several problems on individual reactions. You should cover the major ones that were covered in your ochem lectures. Don’t need to know any difficult ones as well as the obscure reactions. The key in this section is fundamental. Now, I was horrible with ochem; I was barely pulling Bs in them. However, on the real test, I was able to get a 22. 

How I studied for ochem

1. Read both Kaplan DAT Blue Book  and Kaplan DAT White Book a couple of times.  Wrote out the funamental mechanisms and important/major reactions.

2. If I didn’t understand something I went to The Princeton Review Hyperlearning MCAT Biological Sciences Review . This book is awesome because it explains things really well.

I did not use any other review books besdies the ones I mentioned above. I think these books are all you really need along with the practice test softwares.  If you do as what I say, you should be fine with this section. Good luck.

Responses

  1. thanx so MUCH!!! i REALLY enjoy youre posts and its helping me alot! :)

  2. PLEASE POST MORE! im sure youre busy but i come back frequently hoping that youve updated. thank you! =]

  3. I know, seriously – missing the posts bro..

  4. Love your blog! So helpful! What do you think of examkrackers mcat for dat prep? specifically examkrackers ochem and gen chem. Also have the 1001? books from examkrackers.

  5. How did you score on this section?
    thanks

    P.S: I got 2 C’s in O chem, is that bad? GPA around 3.2/3.0 sci. But I had too many family issues going on, My dad passed away, mom went into a deep deep hole of depression after that, I became depressed for the first time in my life…. etc. I know dental schools will really look down upon my grades, because there is nothing there that will impress them. I have gone thru things these past few yrs that most people would not go thru in their lifetime.

    I am really hoping to get 23 avg + on the test to show them that i know my stuff. Will that be enough?

    Last sem GPA was 2.3. with my first D in college. I have two more semesters left to graduate. If i get a 3.5 GPA or above the next two semesters, would that be a good enough upward trent?

    thanks!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

